Skippy Keefer Award Nominees Named

Each year, current and former Metro Women’s Athletic Association (MWAA) schools nominate students for the Skippy Keefer Award. Westminster’s nominee’s this year were seniors Caroline Kopsky and Alyssa Legters. Both athletes, their families, and coaches were invited to attend an honorary banquet at Westborough Country Club where one young lady was selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship.

Skippy Keefer was the athletic director at John Burroughs School for 24 years. Her impact on athletics reached far beyond her own school. In 1988, she helped found the MWAA, a league formed to promote athletic participation and sportsmanship among female athletes attending private independent schools. Upon Skippy’s retirement in 2001, an anonymous donor wanted to honor her with an annual contribution of $1,000 to be given to a senior female athlete who exemplifies the qualities of athletic participation and excellence in sportsmanship.

Congratulations to Caroline and Alyssa for representing Westminster well!

Back to All Posts

You may also be interested in: